Thoughts, the end of Earth Science…

So, I just walked in the door of my apartment and continue to have this unsettled, nervous feeling that I haven’t been able to shake for the last few days.  The band I played drums in, Earth Science is over.  As I was saying, I just walked in the door…I was coming from the studio I had shared with Earth Science for the last few years.  I just unpacked my drums and set them up in the studio where they will stay for a while.  We just played our last show this past Saturday.  The band is disbanding after writing and recording many songs, playing many shows and having a blast doing it.  I will miss playing with these guys, playing those songs and all the great times we had together.  We decided to stop playing together because one of our guitar players, Dino, is moving with his wife and child to Thailand.  He urged us to keep going, but there is no way we could ever replace him.  Instead, we are going our separate ways for now.

Now, that feeling I was talking about.  I had the same one when I left The Keepaway years ago.  I have been playing drums since I was about 9 years old and will never stop, but it is kind of shaking me up not to be playing drums in a band right now.  Luckily, I can keep my kit set up in this studio and knock around every once in a while to keep the dust from building.

As you can see from this website, I have been writing and recording songs as Joseph Albert for just over 6 years now and have recently started playing out again.  My plan at this moment is to make Joseph Albert my number one music priority.  I owe it to myself to play out more, record more and to continue enjoy doing this.  Now, you might be thinking, Joe…you have been doing just that all these years.  You are right, but I feel the need to declare it for some reason.  I have a bunch of fun ideas, songs and other stuff coming down the pipeline, so stay tuned.  And knowing me, I might end up playing the drums again soon.  And so, on a positive note…I’ll keep this whole thing open-ended.

Music is such a huge part of my life and has been since I was a child and I know I will never stopping creating and appreciating it.  I will miss Earth Science, and will never forget how much I loved playing with Dino, Jan, Steve and Kayne.

Thanks for listening, reading and supporting!

Cheers!

Love!

Joseph Albert

Leave a Reply

